Home > Work in progress > Next features: the Adventurer

Next features: the Adventurer

2011/01/09

I have been very busy thinking about the next steps for TRS these last days, fueled by interest and active feedback in my topic on TIGSource.

And so, the focus of my next efforts will be the Adventurer.

It is now obvious for me that one of the key elements of making the game appeal to players is making them interested in those little guys that run around, taking quests, killing monsters, getting rich and leveling. So, here are my plans for them:

  1. Classes: typical RPG stuff (ranger, mage, fighter, etc…).
  2. Looks: make each of them look different. At the very least, I will have one sprite set per class for starters.
  3. Names: pick a random names generator and use it.
  4. Personalities: have them behave differently in the same situation: fight until death, run away when injured, etc…
  5. UI: all this will require lots of new interface elements.

I’ve designed several new UI elements on paper already, I’ve redrawn some with Paint.NET to clarify my thoughts and share it before they are integrated in a build.

Here is the first one: the recruit window. Instead of double-clicking the Adventurers’ Guild just to buy a new clone, you’ll be presented with this window, giving a choice between some available characters. Main inspiration for that is Theme Hospital.

Mock-up of 'New Adventurer' popup window

Legend:

  1. Portrait
  2. Special ability (could be fast, strong, lucky, …)
  3. Name (random generated)
  4. Class (ranger, mage, fighter, …)
  5. Personality (coward, blood thirsty, suicidal, intelligent, indefatigable, …)
  6. Bonuses/maluses

I have other big features in store, stay tuned for more info!

Categories: Work in progress Tags: ,
  1. 2011/01/19 at 16:08

    This window is now created in code. I will post screenshots soon 🙂

    But the GUI isn’t the whole of the work, so this is far from finished yet.

  1. 2011/01/12 at 13:41
  2. 2011/02/07 at 18:02
Comments are closed.